Holy Church of Saint Demetrios Loumbardiaris
Where is the Holy Church of Saint Demetrios Loumbardiaris
The Church of Saint Demetrios Loumbardiaris is not only one of the most picturesque churches in Athens but also a frequently preferred destination for weddings and other events. It lies on Filopappou Hill on the way to Pnyka and the Monument of Philopappou.
The tiny church is thought to date back nearly 1,000 years. During its construction, parts of ancient ruins were used, including columns from the altar, which can still be seen today standing strong outside this historic site’s doors.
Its name in Greek means “Saint Demetrius the Bombardier” and derives from an incident in 1658. When the Aga of Athens, Yusuf planned to bombard this church from what he believed to be the perfect position at the Propylaea on the Acropolis.
However, before he could fire even one shot, the weather changed quickly. A thunderstorm came crashing down, and lightning hit the gunpowder killing him and his family members who were also there in charge of maintaining supplies for the army below them.
The residents in the church and the surrounding area justifiably saw the storm, the lightning strike and the explosion of the gunpowder were seen as divine intervention, and the church was named “The Church of the Holy Providence” as a thank you for stopping possible destruction.
In 1955, the church by the renowned architect Dimitrios Pikionis, who also undertook the design of the slated route path that leads to Philopappos Hill. During the restoration works, a number of impressive 16th-century illustrations were uncovered.
The unique frescos painted into the walls